month in review

Hi guys! I know some bloggers are really good about doing themed months and they read all horror books in October, but I’m too random for that! (Plus I didn’t have any horror novels at hand). Instead, I read a bunch of fantasies, a romance, and finally, one thriller. That counts as a scary book, right? Keep reading if you missed any of my posts this month!

A Perfect Plan by Alyssa Drake

perfect-plan

Author Website | Buy this Book | My Review

First up for the month is this fabulous romance set in Victorian England. Samantha doesn’t want to be a noblewoman, but it’s time for her to marry. She’s introduced to Society and reconnects with her late brother’s best friend Ben, who she had stabbed with a foil upon their first meeting. Great introduction, eh? Ben realizes he’s in trouble when he can’t stop thinking about Sam. On her part, Sam has been warned away from Ben; he’s a notorious rake, not a respectable gentleman at all.

This was an amazing read with just the right amount of sizzle and fabulous world-building. And because I enjoyed it so much, the author asked me if I’d like to read the sequel when it comes out. How cool is that?


The Lilies of Dawn by Vanessa Fogg

liliesofdawn_300

Author Website | Buy this Book | My Review

Unlike my usual style, this is a very short book. In fact, it’s only 14k words! But boy does this small book pack a whole lot of story and world.

The lilies have been disappearing ever since the cranes came. There used to be enough lilies to make medicines for all illnesses but the cranes decimated them. Kai’s only hope is a mysterious man who has travelled far and wide, learning about medicines. She hopes what he does can repel the cranes. And she hopes it works before her mother dies.


The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen

runaway-king

My Review

This is the second part of the Ascendance series and it brings us the Awful Life of Jaron. Seriously, the guy has barely anyone he can trust, his own nobles are planning to replace him with a regent, and his neighbouring king is going to declare war against him with the help of some murderous pirates who also want their pound of flesh. Jaron’s only hope is to somehow destroy the pirates because with them out of the picture, his country may actually stand a chance. I mean, he also has to manage to stay king, but that’s another problem altogether.


The Clown Prince of Paris by James Dudley

clownprince

Buy this Book | My Review

I think this may be the only remotely scary book I read in October. In this thriller, Tommy is a stand-up comedian who bravely decides to move his stand-up show to 1954 Paris to try his luck. (Psst, he’s not very lucky!) He ends up getting mixed up in a CIA vs KBG brawl and the CIA agent ends up dead in his room. Everyone naturally assumes Tommy did it, so he has to outrun both the KGB and the french police. So much for a good career move.


That’s it for the books I reviewed during October. It’s kind of funny that I’m currently reading a fairly scary novel. Darn, a bit too late, I guess. Anyhow, I hope everyone had a fun and safe Halloween! Are you guys doing NaNoWriMo this month? If you are, what are you writing about? Let me know in the comments below.

