month in review

Ahhh, school’s starting soon! That means I have to part with my tuition money again. *Sobs quietly* I was happily productive this month, though. I got a new laptop before my old one exploded (seriously guys, NCIX is fast and has a great selection), finished teaching the kids at my summer English tutoring program, and got new glasses (which cost me $0 by the way. Canada, eh?). Oh, and I read a bunch of amazing romances.


Savaged Lands by Lana Kortchik

Savaged Lands

Author Website | Buy This Book | My Review

First up is this touching, tragic tale of Ukraine under Nazi occupation. After he saves her from a Nazi soldier, Natasha falls in love with Mark. She learns, however, that their love spans two sides of a war; he is Hungarian, sworn to aid the Germans. But without his help, Natasha and her family may not survive.


In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce

In-the-Hand-of-the-Goddess-tamora-pierce-59088_296_500

My Review

The romance is even kicking off (slightly) in this medieval fantasy. This second part of the Song of the Lioness series brings better writing, better plotting, and higher stakes than the first. Alanna has grown up and survived page training, but there are still wars and evil wizards to overcome.


Alien Love Story by A.K. Dawson

Alien Love Story

Author Website | Buy this Book | My Review

Dan meets a mysterious girl with huge eyes, who manages to cure his chronic migraines with her presence. It’s too bad she’s an alien. People tend to frown upon romances with other species. This novel is driven by its humour and had me snickering all the way through.


The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

false prince

My Review

Okay, so this one doesn’t have any romance in it. Sage is one of the orphans chosen to undergo prince training. He needs to master the art of being a snobby little brat within two weeks, and he needs to do it better than the other candidates if he wants to keep breathing. Tsk, tsk. The things nobles will do for a crown.


So that was my month. I’m a little sad because I didn’t get as much reading done as I wanted to. I did continue reading 1/2 Prince and discovered a couple plot holes, but it’s a light novel series meant to be driven by comedy, so I’m not looking too closely.

What did you guys get done this month? Let me know in the comments below.

