rambles

Since everyone’s been doing these, I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon. Now, to think of ten things…

1. I rarely buy books before reading them.

As a broke university student, I can’t afford to. I usually only buy books I’ve read and loved, knowing that I’ll want to reread them in the future. The only exception to this is when I’ve read and loved the first book to a series, and when I have to buy books for school.

2. At school, I study literature…in French.

Sure, I miss my good ol’ English lit classes, but at least in French lit I haven’t been analysing all the disturbing messages in my favourite childhood fairytales. (Seriously, I will never look at Little Red Riding Hood the same way again.)

3. The first novel I remember reading is Charlotte’s Web, in second or third grade.

I loved it and hounded my teacher until she procured The Trumpet of the Swan for me. It didn’t cure me of my fear of spiders but I did want a pig for ages.

4. I read more series than standalones.

There just something magical about not having to part with the characters and world I love. Of course, there are wonderful standalones that I enjoy, but after I read them I whine about how there isn’t a sequel. I’m spoiled, I know.

5. I grew up on both Harry Potter and Narnia.

In fourth grade, my school organised a trip for us to go see a play of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. We also each got a copy of the full-colour collector’s edition of the book. After that, I was hooked. And of course, like a lot of other bookworms my age, I spent my childhood hiding out at the library, waiting for the new Harry Potter book to hit the shelves.

6. I like paper books better than digital.

There’s just something I love about holding a book in my hand and flipping the pages. The only problem is, it gets heavy. And I get papercuts. I resign myself to digital books because I’m too weak to carry around 30 books. Maybe I should try weights.

7. I’ve never read/listened to an audiobook.

I think it’s partly because I haven’t had the time, and partly because I like reading in my own voice in my head. Audiobooks take forever to get through.  I know lots of people listen to them when they’re busy and don’t have time to sit down and read, but when I read, I want to concentrate on the book, not read it on the side.

8. I set my brother on the path to bookishness.

When he was in elementary school, he had the hardest time reading or even recognising letters.  I taught him to read and nagged him until he read Harry Potter. It took him ages to get through the first book, (he finally did it in 6th grade) but he raced through the subsequent ones.

9. I love pretty bookmarks. Looking at them, that is.

I always find myself losing bookmarks, or having them slip out of my books. I find it easier to just remember the page I’m on. I can’t resist the beautifully crafted handmade ones I find at bookstores. And then never end up using them.

10. I get unreasonably upset when people fold back pages.

Like, what did the book ever do to you? I especially don’t like it when people do it to books they don’t own. And when it’s my book…watch out.

What are some bookish things about you? Let me know in the comments below.

